Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Archive for the day “April 22, 2013”

Sometimes You Just Have to Do it


Sometimes you just have to do it. Pay full price. I know, for awhile now I’ve been talking about how frugal/thrifty/cheap I am. And I still am. But even I realize that there are times when you just have to bite the bullet and spend the money. My daughter’s wedding is a great example.

The new Mrs. K married the love of her life recently. We are thrilled to be adding a wonderful young man to our family (my wonderful husband is REALLY glad) and the wedding planning has gone very, very smoothly. No bridezilla here!

I started my search for the perfect dress shortly after their December engagement with a lengthy Pinterest exploration. I pinned, liked and slogged my way through every possible dress. I looked at every website (at least it felt like it) in search of something that wouldn’t make me look like a mother of the bride. I tried on some dresses at the bridal boutique where we found D’s wedding dress, but nothing really worked. Then I went shopping with the groom’s wonderful mom and BAM! I found my perfect dress at Nordstrom. I had hoped I could find a dress on sale (we were on a very tight budget), but when I tried on this dress I knew it was the one. It fits like it was made for me, is the perfect color and style and I feel really, really good in it. It wasn’t outrageously expensive, and was still within my clothing budget so I didn’t feel bad about it. I took it home for a family vote and got an enthusiastic round of “thumb’s up”. It’s also a dress I know I’ll wear again – definitely a plus. After a short search I found the perfect shoes – at DSW – on the clearance rack. Score!!

Oh, and after I brought the dress home I was looking at my Pinterest board and found I had pinned the exact same dress and didn’t even realize it. Guess it was just meant to be…

Today’s Outfit:
Dress: Nordstrom
Silver Sandals: DSW

4.18.13

Frugally and stylishly yours,

Lori

Post Navigation