Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

My Journey – Part Six


2.7.15

Texas weather is frequently a roller coaster affair. Especially in winter. Seriously – we can have high temperatures in the 30s one and and in the 60s 24 hours later. I’ve learned to keep varying types of clothes handy – yes, that means lightweight fabrics and heavy sweaters in the same closet. Today’s outfit was perfect for last week’s high of 65 degrees just my leather jacket in the morning, but none needed by 3:00pm. Craziness. It looks like our weather is starting the trek to Spring, so I may be phasing out sweaters and boots before too long. That is, until Winter decide to rear its frosty head for one last blast. It’s happened before. In March…

Now more on the journey…

It’s always a little funny when people ask how I lost my weight. I guess they expect me to say I took some kind of pills or drank weird concoctions – basically a quick fix. When my answer is “diet and exercise” I actually got some weird looks. There are also those who smile, nod and said “exactly”. The honest truth is, it was hard work. Hard. Work. I had to commit totally to the process and set my mind on solid, realistic goals. I did not lose 5 or 10 pounds a week. I think the most I ever lost in one week was 4 pounds. Then I promptly gained back two pounds the next week. There were a lot of days I wanted to just give up and dive face first into a pint of ice cream. Or eat a bag of potato chips. But then I would look in the mirror. REALLY look. And see obvious changes in my body. And I’d get back on track. It took a total of 10 months to lose 30 pounds and I can honestly say every moment was worth it. I’ve made changes that I believe will take me through the rest of my life to be healthy, happy and fit. I want to be waterskiing when I’m 80 years old! If I can do it, so can you. Yes. You can.

Today’s outfit:

Merona black dotted shirt: Target
Jordache skinny jeans: Walmart
Comfort Plus red pumps: Payless Shoe Source
Red necklace: Sam Moon Trading
Gold chains: LYDesigns

Have a lovely, healthy day!

Lori

If you have a minute, would you swing on over and check out my music site? I’ve added a video and updated the gig calendar with new dates for 2015 http://www.reverbnation.com/loriyeary

Follow me on Twitter! @StyleSavvyDFW

Need more inspiration? Check out my Pinterest Boards! Style Savvy DFW Pinterest

If you’d like to see some of my previous outfits in one place, check out my Facebook page! StyleSavvy DFW Facebook.

I’m a proud member of the women-over-40-blogger-community! Check out my fellow over 40 bloggers for more fashion tips!

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “My Journey – Part Six

  1. Jenny McGuire on said:

    Love following your post but I take great offense when you make a comment that surgery to loose weight is a quick fix. It by no means is a quick fix or a easy way out. It has been my experience that people that only have 30 pounds to loose think this way, so unless you have been in others shoes don’t assume that you know how hard or easy someone else journey is. Many people benefit from weight loss surgery.

    Like

    • Thank you Jenny. You are definitely right – surgery is definitely an wonderful option for many people. I never meant to offend and hope you will accept my apology. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

  2. Love the touches of red in your outfit! Take care, God bless…Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have been following your blog for awhile and love your attitude and “clothing sense”……and these last few posts have inspired me to refocus on my weight loss….my weight loss journey started about 10 years ago when I woke up one day and saw the scale hit 213 (I am 5’10”).my highest weight ever including when pregnant…I got busy focusing on me…..lost 30 pounds in about 18 months and felt so wonderful…..but (there is always a but😉)….I had to have two back surgeries in a period of 16 months and have been struggling and have had moments of “why
    try?”……but reading your story and looking at your outfits (I love clothes) has really helped me change my attitude….thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks so much for reminding me that Target and Walmart can be good places to find a “basic” like a polka dot shirt, etc. to fill out your wardrobe. I also struggle with fluctuating temperatures here in North Georgia and I feel your pain. My closets are full because I really cannot pack up the out of season wardrobe except in the dog days of summer! I actually hate shopping but am definitely a fashionista – I have used Victoria’s Secret (clearance only), zulilly, zappos and other on line shops constantly. The reminder about Target comes in handy as I usually will zoom in and out for pet, household supplies and prescriptions – I SIMPLY MUST REMEMBER TO LOOK AROUND!

    You are an inspiration. I am trying so hard to figure out (still) how to balance healthy eating and SLOW weight loss instead of going to quick fixes for the 10 lb weight loss I really want to accomplish. This weight loss game after 50 has been hard, hard, hard.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Bev! Thanks so much for your comment. I agree that losing weight/keeping it off after 50 is a big challenge. With our bodies constantly changing, hormones can wreck havoc on any kind of weight loss. Slow and steady is definitely the way to lose weight for good, but I also understand it’s frustrating. Hang in there – you can do it!

      Like

Thanks so much for your comment!

