Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

My Journey – Part Three


1.30.15a

I think one of the things that helped me keep going during my weight loss journey was setting goals. Once I saw that the dieting and exercise was working I decided to challenge myself. I set two very specific (and up to that point unthinkable) goals: Learn to slalom waterski (one ski) and run a 5k race. I learned to waterski (2 skies) when I was in college and had tried unsuccessfully to get up on one ski several times. I always felt overweight and uncoordinated in previous attempts, so just quit trying. Now I had reason to think I could do it. I was improving my physical fitness every time I got on the treadmill or elliptical machine, and eating a healthier diet was making me feel better and better every day. By June I had lost almost 20 pounds! When we left for our annual vacation at Table Rock Lake in Missouri I was feeling pretty confident I would get up on slalom. And I did! It was much easier than I thought, and you can bet I had a huge smile on my face that entire week. I felt good, looked good and it was at point I realized – I could never go back to way I was before. I made the commitment to myself (and AH) that this was a permanent change. It didn’t mean there wouldn’t be challenges or setbacks, but this was a course I was determined to stay on for the rest of my life.

I hope it’s ok if I continue this story for another couple of days. I didn’t realize how good it would feel to share it with y’all…

Today’s outfit:

Converse grey cotton sweater: Target
Jordache skinny jeans: Walmart
Exhileration grey flats: Target
Jewelry: LYDesigns
You might have noticed my black “bracelet”. It’s the FitBit AH bought me for Christmas!

Have a lovely, healthy day!

Lori

If you have a minute, would you swing on over and check out my music site? I’ve added a video and updated the gig calendar with new dates for 2015 http://www.reverbnation.com/loriyeary

Follow me on Twitter! @StyleSavvyDFW

Need more inspiration? Check out my Pinterest Boards! Style Savvy DFW Pinterest

If you’d like to see some of my previous outfits in one place, check out my Facebook page! StyleSavvy DFW Facebook.

I’m a proud member of the women-over-40-blogger-community! Check out my fellow over 40 bloggers for more fashion tips!

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “My Journey – Part Three

  1. Don’t know how you looked before, but you have a stunning figure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Loving your story! Thank you for sharing. And today’s outfit is totally adorable; definitely my style.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Teri Evans on said:

    enjoying .. keep feeding us!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cindy a on said:

    I like when blogger are real and authentic. I have recently committed to doing the 5 k with girls on the run. I want to show my third grader I can do it. I also started using the Fitbit. I like how it keeps me accountable and set daily goals or trying to get 500 before.. . Good luck and you look great.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kathleen on said:

    I’m loving your story. I think I shared before that I lost around 70 pounds. I did it by watching what I eat. Your story is inspiring me to think about trying to fit in exercise. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lynne Johnson on said:

    You look fantastic! I think you look at least a decade younger now. I really appreciate your focus on having a chic style on a budget.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You helped me so much on my weight loss journey – thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Christine on said:

    Definitely continue your story….thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Your blog is simply awesome. I too lost 25 lbs on My fitness Pal about 2 yrs ago. This is a great program! Kept weight off for over a year then had back and nerve issues and stopped exercising & watching weight & unfortunately am starting all over again THIS WEEK, I think my guadian angel led me to your blog for hope & inspiration. I’m a retired teacher of 43 yrs, have 2 daughter & 4 little grand boys. I must keep active, healthy & look good for all the right reasons. I love love fashion on a budget & love your style because it’s practical, classy bright & fun. You’re my kind of “girl”!!! Thanks for sharing so much, Lori. Happy 66th birthday to me next Sunday & a new beginning once again. Carol

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for your comment!

