Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

My Journey


No outfit photo today. Today I’m going to share some of my weight loss journey. In all honesty, I’ve put this off because I didn’t want to bore you with my story. But so many of you have asked, I figured it might be time.

In 2011 I was overweight, borderline depressed and feeling like I was powerless to do anything about it. The photo below was taken just right before Christmas that year. I look at it now (it’s the wallpaper on my phone) it reminds me that I have a choice every day. Never. To. Go. Back. I started my diet on January 1, 2012 with a 21 day Standard Process cleanse. I figured there was a lot of junk in my system so I want to start with a clean slate. I had already quit drinking sodas (even diet sodas), eliminated Aspartame and switched to decaf coffee, so I was off to a good start.

While I was on the cleanse I researched many different diet plans and determined that sticking to a specific eating plan was going to be difficult. I discovered the My Fitness Pal app for iPhone and started counting calories. I decided on 1200 calories a day with an emphasis on more protein and less sugar. In other words, I wanted to eat healthier. For the first couple of months I pretty much eliminated breads and starches, then gradually added them back in. I also started exercising, which for me was huge. I’ve never been athletic, so I started with just walking on a treadmill. I joined a gym and committed to going at least 5 days a week. I took my workout clothes to work and changed before I left so I had no excuse not to go to the gym! At first I couldn’t do more than 30 minutes on the treadmill, but gradually worked my way up to 45 minutes, then an hour. The first time I got on the elliptical machine I thought I was going to pass out after only 3 minutes! But I stuck with it and eventually would alternate between the treadmill and elliptical. It took about 2 months to lose the first 10 pounds, but it didn’t get easier, trust me. But more about that, tomorrow…

Before and After

 

2.23.15

 

Have a lovely, healthy day!

Lori

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “My Journey

  1. Your post about your weight loss couldn’t have been timed more perfectly for me. I have been declaring to lose this extra weight for many months, maybe even a year or more. I got in the scale the other day and almost fainted. I’m just plain fat and it’s time NOW to do something about. Thank you for the encouragement. I need all the help I can get. Love your daily emails!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love that you are sharing this awesomeness! From Glory to glory! You shine Lori!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Terry Wollersheim on said:

    Thank you so much for sharing with us your journey. Beginning in the fall of 2004 I embraced a healthier lifestyle. It took me a full year to lose 60 lbs. When you described climbing onto the elliptical, it was as if I wrote those words. I have remained very active and still eat healthy 80% of the time. However, over the past 2 years my mother died unexpectedly and I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disorder. I’ve gained back 10 lbs. and am so discouraged. I am inspired by what you are sharing with us. Thank you. Btw, I love your daily posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mimi Campbell on said:

    Finding your blog last week was a blessing. I’m a 52 yr old grandma and about 40 lbs overweight. I love your outfits and your attitude. Thank you for all you do.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have been looking for a blog just like this! Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thank you so much for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. sadietom on said:

    Thank you for sharing. I’m getting psyched up to start my own journey and this definitely motivated me.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Thank you for sharing your weight loss journey! Since I entered menopause several yrs ago I have gained over 30 lbs than I am struggling to get off. It’s much harder after menopause to lose weight & gets very discouraging, but I’m determined! By the way, you look great in short hair as well!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. thank you for sharing your story. I struggle with my weight in very much the same way you described. You were amazing before and now you are super amazing. thanks again for inspiring me to keep up with my own journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Christine on said:

    Thank you for sharing your story. I also am 52, and have started a weight loss journey this month for health reasons. I am also using My Fitness Pal and bought a Fit Bit to track my steps. I’m glad you decided to tell your story, it encourages me to stay on track.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thank you so much for posting your journey. I went through a similar journey. I love to hear people’s stories. They are so interesting. Take care, God bless…Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for your comment!

