Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Happy Birthday to ME!


2.23.15

Oh, Texas weather. You never know what you’re getting from one day to the next. Seriously – yesterday it was warm, today was cold and rainy. It’s like the weather doesn’t even know it’s January. But the good news is…

It’s my birthday! If you had told me the year I turned 50 that I would be celebrating my 56th birthday healthier, happier and more excited about life than ever I would have said you were crazy. When I turned 50 I was overweight, frustrated and borderline depressed. I really didn’t have much excitement about anything and couldn’t see a way out. It took me a couple of years, but in 2011 just before my 52nd birthday I decided to make some changes. Some pretty drastic changes. I determined to lose 30 pounds, learn to slalom waterski and run a 5k race. And I did it. It took 10 months of hard work, but I lost the 30 pounds and met all of my goals. It’s taken more hard work, but I’ve kept the weight off for almost 3 years. Which is a minor miracle, trust me.

The last 3 years have been an amazing adventure. I started writing this blog in 2012 and have been incredibly blessed by your response. I never imagined I would still be writing today – so thank you, from the bottom of my heart. Just last summer I started singing jazz – and I can’t even express how wonderful it’s been. I’ve made so many new friends, sung in some fun places with amazing musicians and had more fun than I believed possible. Life is really, really good.

Thank you for making this an amazing year. Y’all are wonderful!

Have a lovely day!

What I wore:
Striped long sleeve t-shirt: H&M USA
Jordache skinny jeans: Walmart
Nine West black booties: DSW
Scarf: Target

Frugally yours,

Lori

If you have a minute, would you swing on over and check out my music site? I’ve updated the gig calendar with new dates for 2015 http://www.reverbnation.com/loriyeary

Follow me on Twitter! @StyleSavvyDFW

Need more inspiration? Check out my Pinterest Boards! Style Savvy DFW Pinterest

If you’d like to see some of my previous outfits in one place, check out my Facebook page! StyleSavvy DFW Facebook.

I’m a proud member of the women-over-40-blogger-community! Check out my fellow over 40 bloggers for more fashion tips!

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to ME!

  1. Happy Birthday! May you have much health, wealth and love!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia Jaz on said:

    Happy Birthday! Patty

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary Sarah Brady on said:

    Happy Birthday! I follow your blog but rarely comment. You’re an inspiration and I really enjoy your blog. Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Teri Evans on said:

    Happy Birthday!
    You look fabulous and your
    outfit is adorable!
    What would you recommend for a beginner to learn how to create a website (blog)?

    Like

    • Hi Teri! I apologize for taking so long to answer. I started my blog using a WordPress template. It’s really easy and pretty much “idiot proof” – which was perfect for me! I read a lot of blogs, then just jumped off and started. I’m still learning – I think it’s a never-ending process. Good luck!

      Like

  5. You have completed a remarkable make over and continue to thrive! Your 50’s are including some real milestones to enjoy as you complete each year. Congratulations and happy birthday.

    Like

  6. Happy Birthday! May you have another great year!….Kathy

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Happy Birthday! Thanks for the inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Kris Ronchetti on said:

    Happy Birthday…each day I look forward to your blog and outfits….I am inspired by you!!

    thank you

    Kris

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Happy Birthday, Bless you and I hope things continue to get better, Love your style and inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Kathy F on said:

    Happy Birthday! Congratulations on all your hard work! Love your look!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kathryn Ruth on said:

    I’m a new follower and love your style! Are you willing to share what you did to lose the 30 pounds? That is not an easy task for women over 50…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Yes, please do a post on how you lost the 50 lbs! Great accomplishment!

    Like

  13. Happy birthday! Hope you had a fun day. Looking forward to hearing about your weight loss journey.

    Liked by 1 person

Thanks so much for your comment!

