Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Fall Forward


 

9.10.14

No, the picture above is not me. I wish I was 20-something…well, maybe not. Today I want to talk about inspiration. AH and I took a couple of days off and went to our favorite lake for some last of the season waterskiing so I don’t have an outfit to post – I didn’t think anyone needed to see me in a swimsuit! Now that fall is almost here, I know we’re all getting catalogues and emails with the new collections and wondering “how in the world do I take a runway look and make it appropriate for me?” I feel your pain. The photo above is a great example of a look I love, but wouldn’t be caught dead wearing. It’s awesome, but not for a 55 year old woman. Well, at least not THIS 55 year old woman. So how would I recreate this outfit for moi? Here goes:

-I would keep the leather jacket – AH bought me one at White House/Black Market last year (similar here)
-I’d substitute the printed white sweater for a fitted off white turtleneck – or maybe even a cobalt blue sweater (similar here)
-Trade the short leopard skirt for a longer, pencil skirt (Similar here)
-Keep the black tights and booties
-Add a black scarf if it’s really cold!

I’ll put this outfit together and wear it as soon as the weather cools. I just wanted to give you a little something to think about…

I love all your comments, so please keep them coming!

If you have a minute, would you swing on over and check out my new music site? http://www.reverbnation.com/loriyeary

Frugally yours,

Lori

Follow me on Twitter! @StyleSavvyDFW

Need more inspiration? Check out my Pinterest Boards! Style Savvy DFW Pinterest

If you’d like to see some of my previous outfits in one place, check out my Facebook page! StyleSavvy DFW Facebook.

I’m a proud member of  the women-over-40-blogger-community! Check out my fellow over 40 bloggers for more fashion tips!

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Fall Forward

  1. There are so many great inspiration photos out there. I look forward to seeing them put together in a way that is fashionable for my age. Sometimes I look at a photo and say “unfortunately, NEVER”, but you have now inspired me to think about it a little differently. Will definitely look forward to seeing your version put together. Thanks!!

    Like

  2. Don’t think turtlenecks look good on 50 something’s (yes I am one)..accents the neck and intensifies hot flashes..lol

    Like

Thanks so much for your comment!

