Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Experiments


5.1.14 blue skirtI’ve gotten pretty good at experimenting with color. Today I decided to throw caution to the wind and try a new “POC” combination. “POC” is shorthand for “pop of color” and my current favorite color is coral. The black and white striped shirt and blue skirt looked pretty good by themselves, but add the coral? Well, I think it just pulls everything together. I could have stopped with the shoes, but why? By adding the belt, necklace and earrings the whole outfit is more cohesive – and (in my opinion) a little more polished looking.

About my hair…well today was one of those days when it wasn’t going to do anything I wanted. So I braided it. Thankfully it’s now long enough that I can get a pretty decent looking braid – so be prepared – this my be my go to style for summer! Here’s a close up in case you’re interested:

5.1.14 hair

What I wore:

Black and white striped t-shirt: H&M
Blue knit skirt: Land’s End
Comfort Stride coral wedge sandals: Payless
Orange bubble necklace: J Crew Outlet
Orange earrings: Sample Sale

Frugally yours,

Lori

Follow me on Twitter! @StyleSavvyDFW

Need more inspiration? Check out my Pinterest Boards! Style Savvy DFW Pinterest

If you’d like to see some of my March outfits in one place, check out my Facebook page! StyleSavvy DFW FacebookApril outfits coming SOON!

I’m a proud member of  the women-over-40-blogger-community! Check out my fellow over 40 bloggers for more fashion tips!

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Experiments

  1. Sarah on said:

    I love your hair? Is there a tutorial I can watch to learn how to do that?

    Like

  2. bizziewithlizzie@nc.rr.com on said:

    Love the color! It works very well!

    Like

  3. Simone on said:

    I second the nomination for a video tutorial on the braid! And I love the coral, too – great POC!

    Like

Thanks so much for your comment!

