Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Size Matters (or does it?)


2.27.14

2.27.14c

2.27.14

2, 4, 6, 8 – 10, 12, 14+ – What size are you? Women’s clothing sizes are some of the most frustrating “labels” known to mankind. It’s a source of pride or frustration – sometimes all in the same closet. It’s not unusual to have 3 or 4 different sizes of clothes in a wardrobe – and all of them fit! I’ve never understood why women’s clothing designers and manufacturers couldn’t come up with a universal sizing system like there is for men’s clothes.

My husband wears a size 32/34 in men’s slacks and jeans. It doesn’t matter what brand, he can walk into a store and know that size is going to fit.  When I go into a store I have to take at least 2 different sizes (sometimes 3) in order to find one that fits correctly. A small is definitely not a small in every blouse, shirt or sweater. I guess this is why so many women hate shopping for clothes. And don’t even get me started on swimsuits…

One thing I have found helpful is to pinpoint a couple of stores (or designers) that you can become familiar enough with to shop with relative ease. The LOFT is one of my personal favorites. Their clothes are sized pretty accurately across style and type, so I know with relative certainty what size will fit. I still take two different sizes into a dressing room, but I stay pretty consistently within a 2 size range. It does take some time, but it’s definitely worth the effort to get clothes that fit properly.

The pants in today’s outfit are a recent find at The LOFT. I liked them so much I bought them in light grey as well as the khaki color and I’m so glad I did. I tried on two different sizes just to ensure they fit properly and am pleased with the results. They are comfortable without being too slouchy and I can’t wait to create some more outfits with them!

What I wore:
Khaki pants: The LOFT Outlet
White t-shirt: H&M
Rust colored cardigan: H&M
Nine West cognac pumps: Rack Room Shoes
Brown leather belt: Target
Pearl strands: Claire’s Accessories
Gold chains: Charming Charlie, LYDesigns

Frugally yours,

Lori

Need more inspiration? Check out my Pinterest Boards! Style Savvy DFW Pinterest

If you’d like to see some of my January outfits in one place, check out my Facebook page! StyleSavvy DFW Facebook

I’m a proud member of  the women-over-40-blogger-community! Check out my fellow over 40 bloggers for more fashion tips!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Size Matters (or does it?)

  1. Linda Chase on said:

    Love this casual look- just slouchy enough and great color cardi. Boy do I agree about the Loft. I know what cut and size I take in jeans and pants, and get most of my bottoms there because of that. It is also a safe place to order online as their sizing is so consistent. I need to look into those pants though Lori, they look like a beautiful weight for spring.

    Like

Thanks so much for your comment!

