Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Closet Review Part Two


10.13.13

I cannot overemphasize the importance of a closet edit and review! Just going through your closet once every six months or so can make a huge difference in your wardrobe options. One trick I use is to turn all my hangars “backwards” at the beginning of a season. Then when I’m ready to switch over to the new season’s clothes any hangars that are still backwards are evaluated to see if I keep that item or donate it. As you’re cleaning out ask yourself the following questions:

1. Does it fit?
2. Is it in good condition? (No stains, tears or signs of wear)
3. Is it flattering? (Is it too loose/tight? Do the buttons gap?)
4. Can I pair the item with at least 3 other pieces in my current wardrobe?
5. If I were shopping today, would I buy it?

Asking these questions will help you determine what to keep and what to throw away/donate. Once you clean out, spend some time organizing! I organize my tops/jackets/sweaters by color, which makes finding things a lot easier. It’s definitely worth the time and makes assembling outfits a breeze.

If the thought of cleaning out/organizing your closet makes you want to run screaming into the street, don’t hesitate to ask for help! My daughters are wonderful about helping me, and I’ve helped them in return. If you’re in the Dallas/Fort Worth area Style Savvy DFW can help you, too! Contact us today at stylesavvydfw@gmail.com or check out the services and pricing page here: http://stylesavvydfw.com/services-and-pricing/

Today’s outfit is another one from my recent purge/closet review session with the lovely Mrs. K. What do you think?

Printed cotton shirt: Old Navy
Brown blazer: Dress Barn
Levi’s mid-rise skinny jeans: Kohl’s
Comfort Plus brown pumps: Payless

Frugally yours,

Lori

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for your comment!

