Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Never give up!


My awesome husband and I went out dancing recently so I wanted to dress up a little. I found this dress last year at Marshall’s and hadn’t worn it yet, so I decided to give it a try. I love how it fits through the bodice then flairs just a bit at the skirt. Great for twirling on the dance floor!

I’ve said before that dresses can be tricky for me – a defined waist is often in the wrong location and looks weird. This dress is the exception because the bodice is fitted almost to my hips – giving a nice slimming effect. Finding the right fit – whether it’s in pants, skirts, dresses, whatever involves a lot of trial and error. Don’t give up! Take along a friend if you’re in doubt and get an honest opinion. But don’t hesitate to TRY! Once you find a style that looks good, use it as a guideline for future shopping. For instance: I know that gathered waist skirts just don’t look good on me so I stay away from them. Pencil skirts are flattering and easy to wear, but I still have to try them on!

Today’s outfit:
Dress: Marshall’s
Black Gladiator Sandals: DSW
Silver hoop earrings: Target

Frugally yours,

Lori

5.18.13

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for your comment!

