Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Spring Cleaning


How often do you clean out your closet? Been awhile? If you’ve been procrastinating I encourage you to do it soon. I usually do a clean out when I switch from one season to the next. It’s a natural time to evaluate what you wore and what you didn’t during the previous season, but you have to be honest. I’ve found the best way for me it putting my hangers in backwards when I hang clothes. If I haven’t worn an item by the end of the season I take a hard look at why and if it should go in the donate bag. Sometimes you have to be brutal. Sometimes you need an objective friend (or daughter) to nudge you in the right direction.

When changing your wardrobe to a new season it’s well worth your time to try everything on before hanging it in the closet. Evaluate each piece so you can make an informed decision on whether or not to keep it. Does it still fit? Is it comfortable? Does it need to be altered? Do you still like it? Put things in piles: Keep/Alter/Donate/Throw away and stick with your decision! One of my rules is every item must coordinate with at least two other items in my closet. If it pairs with three or more that’s a bonus. There are a couple of exceptions, but they’re special event outfits so they get a pass. Same thing goes for shoes. I try to buy shoes that will coordinate with several outfits and regularly weed out my shoe collection. I schedule a donation pickup with the Leukemia Lymphoma Society at the beginning of each season. It’s a great motivator to clean out – not to mention a nice tax deduction for the next year.

When was the last time you cleaned out your closet??

Today’s outfit:
Lime green ¾ sleeve sweater: The LOFT Outlet
Lime green tank: Target
Dark teal slacks: The LOFT Outlet
Nude Sandals: Ross
Necklaces: Lori Yeary Designs

4.27.13

Frugally yours,

Lori

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for your comment!

