Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Fashion Intimidation


It’s easy to be intimidated when it comes to fashion, especially for women of a “certain” age. There are so many opinions and schools of thought! We want to be stylish, but not look like we’re trying too hard. We don’t want to look like our grandmothers, but not like our daughters either. So how do I do it? Lots of trial and error. Extensive internet research and second (and sometimes third!) opinions. But mostly I go by what feels good to me. I try not to be too trendy, instead going for a pulled together and comfortable style. I love Gilda Radner’s philosophy: “I base most of my fashion taste on what doesn’t itch”. Funny, but so true! If I find myself constantly readjusting a blouse or pulling at my jeans it’s an indication that something doesn’t fit properly. If my shoes aren’t comfortable for a full day of work then I either need to rethink how/when I wear them or give them away. Uncomfortable or ill-fitting? In the words of Sweet Brown “ain’t nobody got time for that”!

Last year I went on a diet and exercise program and lost 30 pounds. As a result I had to completely replace my wardrobe – which sounds great until you actually have to spend the money! I also had to reevaluate how I dress my new, improved body. At the age of 54 that’s an interesting proposition. I wanted to accentuate my new, thinner frame without revealing too much. I also had to be budget conscious and build up slowly so I didn’t give my very understanding and supportive husband a heart attack! This process is one reason I started writing this blog. I’ve been amazed at the response!

Thanks for reading – I’d love to get your feedback and questions!

Today’s outfit:
Teal Empire Waist top: LOFT (hand me down from my daughter!)
White Cardigan: LOFT Outlet
Denizen bootcut jeans: Target
Brown Aerosole Sandals: DSW
Orange bubble necklace: J Crew Outlet
Long gold chain: Lori Yeary Designs
Gold earrings: Lori Yeary Designs

**I showed the outfit with and without the sweater. It’s still a little chilly here, so the sweater was comfortable.

Frugally yours,

Lor4.28.13bi4.28.13c

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Fashion Intimidation

  1. Love the orange fingernail paint also, nice touch

    Like

Thanks so much for your comment!

