Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

The Right Stripe


Stripes are everywhere this season as you’ll see from my wardrobe in the coming weeks. I used to shy away from stripes, but I think there are many ways we can wear stripes without looking like a zebra. Or much wider than we really are. The keys are the width and direction of the stripe – and I will offer a disclaimer that stripes do not look good on everyone.

I have several striped shirts, but my favorite one is featured in today’s outfit. I bought it at H&M for $13.00 and I plan to buy an extra one as a backup. I learned a great lesson several years ago when I found a pair of shoes I absolutely loved and didn’t go back and buy them in other colors. Now when I find something I really like – and know I will wear often – I buy an extra or multiples in different colors.

There are several things that make this shirt work so well: the boat-neck is very flattering, the ¾ sleeves cover up my arms and the stripes are just the right width. I can pair it with a cardigan sweater, necklace or scarf to change the look and expand my outfit options. It works with jeans, shorts or a skirt equally well. Definitely a wardrobe staple!

Today I’m showing the outfit with two different pairs of shoes. I put on the black pumps first, but then remembered I’d be walking a lot during the day so I switched to the black ballet flats. It’s a great example of how shoes can change the feel and attitude of an outfit! What are some of the “go to” items in your closet? How do you change them up? If you’d like some suggestions, send me a photo – I’d love to help!

Today’s Outfit:
Black striped tshirt: H&M
Skinny Jeans: Target
Black pumps: Payless
(2nd Look) Black Ballet Flats: Target
Hot Pink Bubble Necklace: J Crew Outlet

4.14.13 4.14.13.b

Frugally yours,

Lori

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for your comment!

