Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Professional Style


Sometimes you just have to dress up a little. Don’t get me wrong, I love the fact that I can wear jeans to work every day, but the girly side of me needs to dress up every now and then. Today was one of those days.

This is the “inbetween” season in Texas. Warm days, cool nights – and the occasional weird cold front. I’ve seen just about everything weather-wise in a Texas March: heat wave, tornado, torrential rain, snow, wind, you name it. One day you’re in shorts and flip flops, the next your pulling out the sweaters and coats! I really want to put away my sweaters, but I know we’ll probably have a cold snap when I do and I’ll have to dig through to find something warm to wear. I think I’ll wait until April to pack everything away.

Today’s weather is pretty mild (a cold front is on its way tonite, naturally) so I opted for a little bit more professional look for work. Of course, whenever someone “dresses up” ( and by that I mean wears something other than jeans and tennis shoes), everyone jokingly asks when the interview is. I’ve already had a couple of people ask that question this morning! Black slacks, crisp white button down shirt and black pumps. Not too exciting, but I feel good in it, so that’s all that matters. I put on the white pearls, decided that was boring, then added the green bubble necklace. Voila! Updated, fun look in an instant!

After years in the “corporate” world, it’s nice to wear jeans – but sometimes I miss getting dressed up for work every day. What do you wear to work? Do you have favorite “go-to” item you wear regularly?

Today’s Outfit:
Black Slacks: Express
White Buttondown Shirt: GAP
Black Belt: Target
Black Pumps: DSW
Pearls: Claire’s
Green Bubble Necklace: J Crew Outlet

3.18.13

Frugally yours,

Lori

P.S. I apologize for the quality of today’s photo. I was in a hurry and forgot to take the photo at home, so I had to take it at work!

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for your comment!

