Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Frugal Fashion


Credit this blog to “new blogger syndrome” – so many thoughts, so little time. I should have posted this yesterday, but got busy and left it in draft mode. I’lll try not to post more than one a day, and rarely will I post without an outfit photo, but some things just need to be said!

I discovered a new word recently. Frugalista. I love it – because that’s me. When I started writing this blog it hadn’t really occurred to me how much of my wardrobe comes from Target, Old Navy, Ross, Marshall’s and outlet stores. After I lost 30 pounds last year I literally had to rebuild my wardrobe from “unmentionables” on up. I gave away ALL of my larger sized clothes – no backup, just in case I gain some weight back, you never know wardrobe for me! It was amazing to me how many bags I gave to charity. Embarrassing, actually. With this new wardrobe I’m determined to be brutal about what I keep. I started by putting all the hangers on the rod backwards. At the end of this season if the hanger hasn’t been turned around (indicating I actually WORE the item), it’s going to charity. Period. I think I’ve bought inexpensive clothes because in the back of my mind I’m afraid I’ll gain some weight back. Just being honest. The fact that we don’t have a bunch of extra money right now (daughters living at home, wedding this spring, etc.) is definitely a factor. But I’ve always been a bargain shopper, so I don’t think I’d spend a fortune on clothes even if I had a bigger budget.

A Frugalista loves fashion AND a bargain. The thrill of the hunt. The secret joy of knowing she didn’t pay full price for an outfit. There’s something so satisfying about it. I actually had a coworker recently tell me that when she “won the lottery” she wanted me to go shopping with her. I was so happy to tell her it didn’t take a lottery win to dress well. Just a nose for a bargain, some fashion sense and a little time and patience. You can look fabulous in a $100 head to toe outfit. Yes, that includes shoes.

Frugally yours,

Lori

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Frugal Fashion

  1. Love love your post! We at Spaces and Gems try to find affordable trendy pieces for our shoppers and I think you would love what we have in-store. Check us out: http://spacesandgems.bigcartel.com/

    Like

Thanks so much for your comment!

