Style Savvy DFW

Affordable Fashion for Every Day

Outside the Box


How often do you think outside the box, fashion- wise? As I’ve said before, I love Pinterest for finding the latest fashion trends. My style boards are full of fun and sometimes out of the box (for me, anyway) ideas. I have boards for Stripes, Skirts, Dresses, Summer Styles, Jewelry…you get the idea. I love the fact that I don’t have to page through magazines to find ideas. Virtual idea boards are brilliant.

I saw an idea recently and decided to take a risk and create my own version. We were celebrating Valentines with a group of friends at a local restaurant. We always take photos when we’re together so I wanted something fun and trendy, but not over the top. Ok, safe. But sexy. Weird combo, right? I went shopping and was initially a little frustrated. I started out looking for a dress, but couldn’t find anything I really liked. I ended up at H&M – and hit the jackpot. The first thing I found was a hot pink pencil skirt. I don’t normally wear pink, but this skirt was just what I was looking for. Then I found a short, black v-neck cardigan. I had seen a similar outfit on Pinterest where the sweater was worn backwards – buttons down the back – and knew that’s how I would style this ensemble. I added Black tights, boots and some pearls for a sexy, sophisticated look. I got rave reviews from my husband (most important!) and friends, plus some great photos. I’ve included photos below – but I spared you the goofy look on my face in the back view.

How often do you think outside the box when putting outfits together? I’d love to hear your ideas!

The outfit:
Pink skirt: H&M
Black sweater: H&M
Pearls: Claires
Boots: DSW
Earrings: Lori Yeary Designs

photo (6)photo (5)

Frugally yours,

Lori

Single Post Navigation

Thanks so much for your comment!

